Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Snow & Voices - Anything That Moves

Snow & Voices is a collective from Los Angeles stemming from duo Lauri Kranz (vocals) and Jebin Bruni (multi-instrumentalist/production).
The forefront of their sound is keyboard-driven arrangements with Kranz warmly accenting dirges, sitting center in the group's whimsical/melancholy nature.
The group just released their latest full-length, 'Anything That Moves', with longtime producer/friend Darrel Thorp (Radiohead, etc.) and Bruni himself (Fiona Apple, etc.), also implementing a huge spectrum of collaborators to fill out the album/live shows.

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Tribeqa - Qolors

In association with warmer weather: new Tribeqa.

tRiBEQA - "Rose" from Sébastien Marqué on Vimeo.


Monday, May 10, 2010

Neon Blonde

Neon Blonde is an experimental rock group featuring then-Blood Brothers Johnny Whitney and Mark Gajadhar. The duo integrated more of an electroclash/post-punk sound under Neon Blonde, but maintained the signature spazz The Blood Brothers were known for.

Whitney took up guitar/songwriting duties (plus backing instruments) for the project but the pair only released the '
Headlines' EP and 'Chandeliers in the Savannah' full-length, both in 2005, before returning to other projects.

Monday, May 3, 2010

Broken Haze - raid system

Broken Haze is the alias of Keisuke Ito, a Japanese experimental electronica hip-hop producer whose futuristic music is composed with glitchy digital noise, lazer synth, chopped melody, industrial drum sound, and dark cinematic ambience.

His track off the 'Jus Like Music & Apple Juice Break present: Oscillations Part 1' compilation prompted me to check out his 2008 full-length '
raid system', an IDM/glitch affair with an hour+ of material.

Might be a big pill to swallow all at once, but any fans of Deceptikon, Ametsub, Kashiwa Daisuke, etc. should give this a try -- maybe even scope some similar artists from the latest Oscillation.